Did You Know These Foods Contain Gluten?

 

Gluten-sensitive enteropathy or celiac disease is a condition inherited and impacts close to one percent of North Americans. Several individuals that are non-celiac experience differing degrees of gluten sensitivity as well. Although several foods that contain gluten, such as pasta and bread, are obvious and easily avoidable. There are others that are surprisingly inconspicuous.

Corn Flakes

Although corn naturally does not contain gluten, the majority of brands of corn flakes can not say the same. The reason is that cereals are quite often sweetened with malt. This is an ingredient that is traditionally produced using barley, which is one of the three gluten grains, as well as rye and wheat. Due to the fact that manufactures are able to mask barley as malt on the products, gluten could be missed. If you realize that there is malt on the cereal box, that means it might consist of gluten.

Oats

Pure oats are totally safe for individuals that have gluten sensitivity. However, research has revealed that the majority of commercially available oats are processed in factories that process barley, rye, and wheat. Individuals have to look for products made from oats that are gluten-free on the label. This signifies that there is little to no chance of cross-contamination. There are many manufacturers that specialize in uncontaminated, pure oats for those gluten-intolerant individuals.

Couscous

Traditional couscous might resemble short-grain rice; however, it is really made from semolina. This is a form of ground durum wheat. In the event that the individual is sensitive to gluten, then the couscous found in several of the grocery stores and restaurants is off-limits. Plus, there are seldom any producers that would provide a gluten-free variety. However, if the individual really loves Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisines, there are several delicious alternatives to couscous. Such as cauliflower, brown rice, and quinoa.

Meat Substitutes

Vegans are not the only ones that faux meat is catering for. With plant-based sausages and burgers continuing to increase, even meat lovers are opting for these tantalizing alternatives. Several faux meat products are free of gluten, however, there are others that use wheat gluten as the main ingredient. In the event that the individual is sensitive to gluten, they should always seek out products that are certified as gluten-free.

Ice Cream

If you crave ice cream especially during this summer heat, but can not eat gluten, this could be tricky. Ice cream could be gluten-free, however, it all depends on what ingredients are added and the method used to process it. The cones typically consist of gluten, so do the toppings, such as cookie crumbs. Ice creams that are served at ice cream parlors and restaurants are the riskiest. Mainly due to the flavors, such as strawberry and vanilla being cross-contaminated. In order to be safe and still satisfy the sweet tooth, stick to store-bought pints, which are produced by gluten-free brands.

Deli Meats

Unseasoned, fresh meat is normally gluten-free. However, deli meats, such as sausages, hot dogs, and cold cuts, might contain gluten due to the wheat-based seasonings and starches added during manufacturing. As deli does not normally supply labels, enquire if the specific meat consists of gluten. Certified gluten-free products will always be the safest bet.

Beer

Traditional beer is normally produced using hops and malted barley and at times even wheat. As both wheat and barley consist of gluten, the majority of beers are regrettably off-limits for individuals with sensitivity to gluten. However, several companies are starting to provide beers that are gluten-free. They are made from grains that are safe, such as buckwheat, sorghum, corn, and rice. Individuals might even locate brews that are celiac friendly.

Soy Sauce

Even though several Asian ingredients like sesame oil, rice, and tofu are great for gluten intolerant individuals. Soy sauce is not to be included in this list. In the majority of soy sauce, wheat is the main ingredient. However, there are plenty of alternatives that are just as delicious, such as tamari or coconut aminos.

Salad Dressing

A fresh green salad that has been drizzled with olive oil is considered to be free of gluten. However, if the individual prefers a creamier, salad dressing, the majority of them contain gluten. Flavorings, starches, and spices which are additives often consist of barley, rye, or wheat. This makes them unsafe for gluten intolerant individuals.